You are here

National Awards Program

The National Trust for Canada believes that historic places are the cornerstones of community, identity and sense of place.

The National Awards Program recognizes individuals, organizations, corporations and rehabilitation projects that give new life to Canada’s historic places. National Trust awards are presented at a ceremony held in conjunction with our annual conference. Selections are made by independent juries whose members represent, on a broad basis, the regions of Canada, the various disciplines relating to heritage conservation, and the voluntary heritage movement.

Leadership Awards

Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards

Prix du XXe siècle

  • Prix du XXe siècle is presented jointly by the National Trust for Canada and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada to promote and raise awareness about nationally significant architecture of the 20th century in Canada.


The Prince of Wales Prize for Municipal Heritage Leadership

"I have always believed that if you want to effect change it is not enough merely to champion an idea, but absolutely vital to make the effort to create tangible examples on the ground that prove this philosophy, and then inspire other communities to do the same." HRH The Prince of Wales.

In keeping with His Royal Highness’ commitment to architecture, the environment, and inner-city renewal, The Prince of Wales agreed to lend his title to the creation in 1999 of a prize to be awarded annually to the government of a municipality which has demonstrated a strong and sustained commitment to the conservation of its historic places. The local government must have a record of supporting heritage preservation through such means as regulation, policies, funding and exemplary stewardship. The nomination must provide evidence that heritage properties in the given municipality have improved over a period of time.

The award consists of a metal plaque and a scroll, as well as a flag or pennant to be flown outside the winning municipality’s headquarters and/or placed on permanent display. The Prince of Wales Prize logo must be displayed on the homepage of the municipality’s website.




The National Trust for Canada is a partner with Prince’s Charities Canada (PCC), a facilitating organization that works with existing Canadian charities already connected to The Prince of Wales to help arrange opportunities for charitable organizations in Canada and the U.K. to work together.

Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement

Madame Gabrielle Léger (1916-1998) consented to serve as patron for an award that recognizes individuals for their outstanding service to the country in the cause of heritage conservation. Founded in 1978, the Gabrielle Léger Medal is Canada's premier honour for individual achievement in heritage conservation.

The award consists of a bronze medal by sculptor John E. Matthews, and an inscribed certificate.


Lieutenant Governor's Award for Heritage Conservation

TheLieutenant Governor's Award Medal Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Heritage Conservation honours outstanding achievement in heritage conservation at the provincial/territorial level. It was established in 1979 to recognize an individual, group's or corporation's efforts in the conservation of historic places over many years. 

In 2015, nominations are being sought for worthy recipients whose work has benefited the province of Alberta.

The award is open to volunteers or professionals active in heritage conservation.

The Lieutenant Governor's Award consists of an engraved medal and an inscribed certificate.


Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards for Building Heritage 

The Ecclesiastical Cornerstone Awards for Building Heritage recognizes excellence in the regeneration of heritage buildings and sites. It was established to recognize completed projects that demonstrate excellence in the conservation of heritage values and illustrate the viability of heritage buildings and sites for commercial or institutional use, and to recognize the people who have contributed to their success.

Eligible projects must have been completed between 2011 and 2016.

The award will be presented in two categories, with the potential for multiple awards in each category:

  • Adaptive Use/Rehabilitation: Projects that demonstrate sensitivity and creativity in preserving the heritage values of a site while making possible a continuing or compatible contemporary use.
  • Infill: Projects that integrate new construction in a historic context in a way that reinforces the character of the streetscape, enhances heritage values and contributes to the revitalization of the complex or district.

Nominations may be submitted by individuals or organizations. Owners may self-nominate. 

The Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards consist of an inscribed certificate.


Prix du XXe siècle

The Prix du XXe siècle recognizes and celebrates the enduring excellence of nationally significant architecture that is either in Canada and designed by an architect from any country, or is a building anywhere that is designed by a Canadian architect. Only existing buildings that were completed after 1950 and before 1988 are eligible for nomination.

The full Terms of Reference, complete with criteria, submission procedures and forms, are available online. Nominations for 2016 are closed. 

The Prix du XXe siècle is given jointly by the National Trust for Canada and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.