You are here

Prince of Wales Prize for Municipal Heritage Leadership

Important Links


Terms of Reference

Creation and Purpose of the Award

In keeping with His Royal Highness’ commitment to architecture, the environment, and inner-city renewal, The Prince of Wales agreed to lend his title to the creation in 1999 of a prize to be awarded annually to the government of a municipality which has demonstrated a strong and sustained commitment to the conservation of its historic places. The award recognizes and celebrates a local government that has demonstrated a sustained record of supporting heritage conservation through such means as regulation, policies, funding and exemplary stewardship. The nomination must provide evidence that heritage properties in the given municipality have improved over a period of time.

Nominations must be received on or before March 24, 2016.

Eligibility Criteria 

  1. Any incorporated local government may be nominated for The Prince of Wales Prize.
  2. Any individual or organization may submit a nomination. Incorporated municipal governments are allowed to nominate themselves.
  3. The nomination must be supported in writing by a heritage organization from the locality.
  4. The nomination should also be supported by other appropriate heritage groups, such as a relevant provincial or territorial heritage association. Consideration will also be given to expressions of support from individuals independent of the local government nominated.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations must be received by March 24, 2016 and must include the following:

  1. A CD ROM or USB device, clearly labeled with the nominated municipality, containing the Check List, written submission and supporting materials as described below. Provide one (1) printed hard copy of the full submission.
  2. The proper and full name of the local government in question;
  3. The name, address, telephone and fax numbers and email addresses of the principal elected official and/or the principal appointed official of the local government nominated;
  4. The year in which the local government in question was incorporated;
  5. The name, address, telephone and fax numbers and email addresses of the individual/organization/municipal government making the nomination (in the case of an organization, please specify the name of the representative to whom all correspondence should be addressed);
  6. The name, address, telephone and fax numbers and email addresses of the primary local organization supporting the nomination. Please specify the name of the representative to whom all correspondence should be addresed;
  7. The name, address, telephone and fax numbers and email addresses of other individuals and/or organizations supporting the nomination;
  8. A completed Check List providing evidence of a sustained commitment to heritage conservation.
  9. A written submission not to exceed four typewritten pages (1,000 words) is required. In keeping with The Prince of Wales’ principles of conservation, it should elaborate upon the municipality’s approach to:
    • Heritage conservation
    • Keeping heritage relevant today through activating heritage areas and finding new uses for heritage assets.
    • Sensitively integrating new construction into historic areas, reflecting continuity and context over time.
    • The economic, environmental sustainability, social and quality of life benefits resulting from the municipality’s investment and commitment to the conservation of its heritage assets should be emphasized. 
  10. Photographs, videoclips, news clippings, other printed material or information which the nominator and/or supporters deem relevant to the nomination (electronic images must have a resolution of 300 dpi)

General Regulations

  1. Previous entries that did not receive an award may be resubmitted in subsequent years. No limit will be placed on the number of times a nomination may be resubmitted.
  2. Nominations must be accompanied by supportive materials of acceptable quality and quantity. The National Trust for Canada reserves the right to determine what constitutes acceptable quality and quantity, to set aside any nomination accompanied by supportive materials of unacceptable quality, and to set aside supportive materials deemed excessive to the nomination.
  3. Nominations for posthumous awards will not be considered.
  4. No nomination or expression of support for a nomination may be made by a current member of the board or staff of the Heritage Canada The National Trust or by a direct family member of a serving board or staff member.
  5. The National Trust for Canada reserves the right not to confer the prize in a given year.
  6. The National Trust for Canada reserves the right to revoke the prize when such a measure is deemed warranted.

Award Jury

The award jury will comprise a maximum of four members. The National Trust for Canada shall appoint three members each year, which will be composed of distinguished experts in municipal heritage planning and urban design, and elected municipal officials. At least one of these will represent a former Prince of Wales Prize winning municipality. His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales will appoint a fourth member to the jury to represent his office.

  1. Each member of the jury will receive a copy of the Terms of Reference and copies of the original submissions. 
  2. Jury deliberations will take place via a teleconference meeting that is chaired by a member of National Trust for Canada senior staff.
  3. The National Trust for Canada forwards the decision to His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales.

Award Presentation

The presentation of the award will take place at the National Trust for Canada's annual National Awards Ceremony and Reception, which is part of its National Conference. A congratulatory video message from The Prince of Wales may be shown and a copy presented to the award recipient along with a signed letter from The Prince of Wales. Former Prince of Wales Prize recipients are invited to attend and be recognized at the National Awards Ceremony.

The winning municipality later hosts a plaque unveiling event at the local level, where a National Trust for Canada representative participates.

The Award

The award consists of a metal plaque and a framed certificate, as well as a flag or pennant to be flown outside the winning municipality’s headquarters and/or placed on permanent display. The Prince of Wales Prize logo must be displayed on the homepage of the municipality’s website.


The National Trust for Canada and the winning municipality collaborate on a communications strategy announcing and reporting on the presentation of the award and its public unveiling.

Please send nominations and support materials to:

National Awards Program
The National Trust for Canada
190 Bronson Avenue
Ottawa ON K1R 6H4

For additional information email:
or phone (613) 237-1066. Please do not email submissions.