You are here

City of Saint John Receives Heritage Canada's Prince of Wales Prize - Press Release

SAINT JOHN, NB - On behalf of the Heritage Canada Foundation, the Honourable Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick, proudly presented the 2002 Prince of Wales Prize to Her Worship Shirley McAlary, Mayor of Saint John, at a noon reception today.

For the third consecutive year, the foundation has awarded the Prince Of Wales Prize to a deserving local government that has demonstrated exemplary commitment to the preservation of its built heritage. Saint John, which has the most intact collection of 19th-century commercial architecture in Canada, was selected for its heritage policies and programs that have earned it a well-deserved reputation as a pioneer in heritage preservation and promotion. Among its many achievements include being the first municipality in New Brunswick to establish a designated preservation area, as well as the creation of an effective grant program that provides financial assistance to the owners of heritage properties.

Brian Anthony, executive director of the Heritage Canada Foundation, praised Saint John for the array of impressive measures they have put in place which have been extremely effective in maintaining the city's historic fabric. These types of measures are the exception among Canadian cities, according to Mr. Anthony, who said that 21 per cent of historic properties in urban areas has been lost during the past 30 years. In the case of Saint John, the loss has been less than one per cent.

Mr. Anthony will re-present the Prince of Wales Prize to city council in Council Chambers at 7 p.m.

As part of the province's Heritage Week celebrations (February 10-14), Jim Bezanson, Heritage Canada Chair and Saint John's Heritage Development Officer, will present the Queen's Golden Jubilee Commemorative Medal to Mr. Robert Boyce, on behalf of the Heritage Canada Foundation. A former Heritage Canada award recipient (Lieutenant Governor's Award, 1985), Mr. Boyce is recognized for his tireless commitment and dedication to the heritage preservation field both locally and nationally.